Summer of Training

As in – take all the lessons!

Oh, you thought I meant that Training? You’re funny.

Training screenshot @ CHP Clinic. Feb 2015

Training screenshot @ CHP Clinic. Feb 2015

You remember back in April when I first made plans for the season? My already-revised show schedule looked like this:

  • May 30 – 31 NCDCTA Capital Dressage Classic
  • June 20 – 21 Dom Schramm Clinic (??)
  • July 11 – 12 Carolina Horse Park Schooling HT (Novice)
  • September 4 – 6 Five Points (CHP) Recognized HT
  • October 11 Carolina Horse Park Schooling HT (Training)
  • October 30 – November 1 Virginia Horse Trials (??)
  • November 8 Carolina Horse Park Schooling HT (Training)
  • November 22 MacNair’s CT (2nd level)

Well, take 5 competitions on that list and put a great big strike through them.

  • May 30 – 31 NCDCTA Capital Dressage Classic
  • June 20 – 21 Dom Schramm Clinic (??)
  • July 11 – 12 Carolina Horse Park Schooling HT (Novice)
  • September 4 – 6 Five Points (CHP) Recognized HT
  • October 11 Carolina Horse Park Schooling HT (Training)
  • October 30 – November 1 Virginia Horse Trials (??)
  • November 8 Carolina Horse Park Schooling HT (Training)
  • November 22 MacNair’s CT (2nd level)

Instead, I’m going to dedicate the summer and my pocket book to lessons. This because duh, we need lessons, and I think getting some professional help will be the best way to prepare us for that eventual Training move up. It will be somewhat of a bummer if we really don’t compete until October of this year, but at least that will save me from the potential heat stroke I’ll likely get if I attempt competing this summer- I can barely make it through a jump school right now at the heat of the day!

Our first item on the now-training-oriented-calendar is a two day session with Bobby Costello at the end of the month. Bobby was vastly helpful in helping me get Foster around the Training course at the Carolina Horse Park, and if he can do that in 5 minutes I’m excited to see what he can do in two lessons.

Bobby Costello shows us how to use both hands and outside aids to make a turn to 9

From the Clinic: Bobby Costello shows us how to use both hands and outside aids to make a turn to 9

From there, I’m eyeing a clinic at the end of July with a certain Canadian team coach (maybe maybe), and finding a jumping trainer who can fill the void at home while the Paynes work on eventing-world domination. We will see what happens!

17 thoughts on “Summer of Training

  1. Excited to hear about all this! Though sad that you won’t be going to the Virginia Horse Trials, because then I might’ve been able to come cheer you on (and take tons of pics!) 😛

    • That is actually the one I have a free entry to, but I have talked myself out of it because apparently the drive is horrendous (4 hrs + mountain driving- I would have to borrow someone’s truck) and the colosseum is horrendous (rider eating monsters in there).

      I could still go, but I would need some pretty strong convincing!

      • OMG I will bring my fancy camera and spend the months until then learning how to use it and will take TOTALLY professional grade pics and I’ll bring cookies for Foster and wine/champagne/beer/booze of your choice for you, and it’ll be amazing. Though I can’t in good conscience try to convince anyone to drive 4+ hours through mountains, so I can see your point. Definitely let me know if you do end up deciding to go!

  2. right now i’m trying to do ALL THE THINGS – zillions of lessons AND events…. but i expect the bubble to burst at some point, probably sooner than i think too…. and when that happens i’ll probably point my dollars at lessons lessons lessons bc they really do make all the difference for us. super excited to hear about your upcoming clinics!!

  3. As hard as it is to give up showing… I think lessons are always a safe bet. I am sure you will be glad you did it come the fall and you rock it at training. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Foster and the NQRness | A House on a Hill

Leave a Reply

